[ IMAGES: Images ON turn off | ACCOUNT: User Status is LOCKED why? ]

EMMANUEL MUDIAY VS. ELFRID PAYTON: A Little Nugget of Truth
Author Thread
GrandDesign
Alba Posts: 0
Member: #7522

2/12/2018  8:14 PM    LAST EDITED: 2/12/2018  8:29 PM
MUDIAY VS. PAYTON: A Little Nugget of Truth

(2/11/18, Copyright-protected with Myows)

** all stats current as of day trade was finalized **

Knicks fan here. I’m a freelance writer by trade with a growing portfolio. You won’t see me on Bleacher Report or one of those hack sites because I actually value my work and prefer to preserve copyrights. This was written yesterday on short notice...

Emmanuel Mudiay was New York’s big acquisition in the wake of Willy Hernangomez being scapegoated to Siberia last Wednesday, and some fans have come away disappointed and confused in the process. Wasn’t Elfrid Payton rumored to be their target? This is a quick write-up just to educate the doubters and curmudgeons out there. Hopefully, some of you will come away feeling a bit better about Scott Perry electing to trade for the mercurial Nugget instead. Let’s get to it, shall we?

So, right off the bat, Elfrid Payton and Emmanuel Mudiay seemed like near identical options at the trade deadline. They’re big, young, athletic point guards who crash the lane, can pass a little, and have equally suspect jumpshots. Same as Michael Carter Williams, same as Rondo, same as Rubio, same as Rose post-ACL, etc., etc. Payton is largely recognized as the more consistent, steady performer, whereas Mudiay’s stock as a prospect is based off his higher upside.

- Both players have a knack for half-court penetration and transition playmaking.
- They both suffer from general shooting woes.
- They’ve more or less failed to justify being drafted in the lottery (#6 and #10 respectively).
- Neither has met their defensive potential, despite having great physical metrics.

Yadda, yadda, yadda.