OT : qyntel woods
Author Thread
raven
Alba Posts: 0
Member: #316
Canada
7/19/2004  2:44 AM
Woods working on image makeover
The Blazers' Qyntel Woods wants changes on and off the court, so he increases training, enters rehab and cuts his hair
Sunday, July 18, 2004
JASON QUICK
SALT LAKE CITY -- One of the most troubled and mocked Trail Blazers, Qyntel Woods decided this offseason it was time for a career makeover.

From Our Advertiser

He hired a personal trainer, and reported to mini-camp with 15 pounds of added muscle. He entered a drug rehabilitation center to address his addiction to marijuana, insisting he has kicked the habit. And on Thursday, he sat in a barber's chair and watched his once beloved braids fall into his lap.

"A lot of people look at me as a thug," Woods said. "But that's really not the case. It's just the look, the braids and things like that. But I'm a professional and I need to start acting like one."

He is out to reconstruct his image, and more important, resurrect his career.

Both, Woods admits, can't get any lower.

Not after multiple marijuana issues, compiled with a strip club brawl, sullied his reputation. One of the instances included being stopped on Interstate 5 with burning marijuana ashes in his car, during which he showed a police officer a trading card for identification, making Woods the butt of countless jokes. It didn't help, either, that on the court, Woods was given several chances, including the backup shooting guard and backup point guard positions, only to wilt under the pressure.

"I really think my career is in jeopardy," Woods said. "So it's time for me to make some changes."

So he comes here, to the Rocky Mountain Revue summer league, for the third consecutive year. There is an unspoken embarrassment for former first-round picks at having to play in a third summer league. It all but puts a neon light over their head as being a bust, a disappointment.