Author Thread
matt
Alba Posts: 4
Member: #487
USA
11/7/2003  6:27 PM
LOS ANGELES LAKERS BASKETBALL TEAM

By Tim Brown, Times Staff Writer

SAN ANTONIO — A free, unencumbered, really free Kobe Bryant would draw a crowd of NBA general managers come July 1; the speculation already is lined up around the block.

Add the San Antonio Spurs, who could clear perhaps $12 million in salary-cap space next summer, to the potential suitors, assuming Bryant opts out of his Laker contract — as he says he will — and then goes franchise hunting.

A San Antonio Express News columnist, under a front-page tease that said, the "Spurs want Kobe," outlined the chain of events that could lead the Spurs to sign Bryant. The Clippers, Memphis, Miami and Chicago, among others, are believed to have the interest, cap room or trade potential to try to land Bryant, assuming he'd give any of them a sniff as a free agent.

A few people close to Bryant predict some scenario will arise — in free agency or by trade — that would have Bryant play for the New York Knicks, which would give Bryant his large market and his on-court freedom.

According to a report in Orlando, Magic management has said it would not consider trading for or signing Bryant because of lingering character doubts.

Laker owner Jerry Buss said Sunday that he would not trade Bryant and that he believed Bryant would re-sign with the club, declarations that have not slowed the speculation even slightly.

After Thursday's shoot-around, Bryant smiled at the mention of the Spurs' interest.

"I saw that this morning in the paper," he said. "It was interesting. I don't really have any comment about it, either way. I don't really think about that stuff till the end of the season."

Assuming his legal difficulties have been settled, Bryant would be the most attractive free agent in a field that would include Antonio McDyess, Steve Nash and Rasheed Wallace.
--------------------------------------------